top of page

LIST OF IMG FRIENDLY PEDIATRIC PROGRAMS

Updated: Sep 10, 2021

Hey Guys! We are so excited to add this IMG Friendly Pediatrics Programs list to our blog! We have collected all the information and condensed it for you so you have all your residency needs in one place for the pediatrics IMG friendly hospitals!



What is included in this post?

  • IMG Friendly Pediatric Programs in each state

  • Application Requirements (Step 1 Score, Step 2 Score, YSG, Visa, and USCE)

  • Program and Program Director's contact information

-ALABAMA-



1.UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA PROGRAM

Program Director: Richard M. Whitehurst, Jr., M.D.

Email: pedsresidency@health.southalabama.edu

Link: https://www.southalabama.edu/colleges/com/departments/peds/residency.html

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (> 192) and 2 is required; Step 3 is not required

USCE: Not required

VISA: J-1 Only

YSG: 5 Years

Contact Information:

Latasha Williams

latashawilliams@health.southalabama.edu

Jessica Petro

pedsresidency@health.southalabama.edu


-FLORIDA-


1. BROWARD HEALTH MEDICAL CENTER PROGRAM

Program Director: Kristie Rivers MD

Email: krivers@browardhealth.org

Link: http://www.browardhealth.org

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (>200); Step 2 (>210)

USCE: Required

VISA: Doesn’t sponsor visas

YSG: 3 Years

Contact Information:

Ashley Britton

pedsresidency@browardhealth.org


2. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA PROGRAM

Program Director: Nicole Paradise Black, MD

Email: blacknm@peds.ufl.edu

Link: http://pediatrics.med.ufl.edu

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 and Step 2 required

VISA: Sponsors J-1 visas

Contact Information:

Megan Lopez

meghanlopez@ufl.edu


3. MEMORIAL HEALTHCARE SYSTEM (HOLLYWOOD, FLORIDA) PROGRAM

Program Director: Sarah Hart-Unger MD

Email: Shartunger@mhs.net

Link: https://www.mhs.net/medical-professionals/education/graduate-medical-education/residency-and-fellowship-programs/pediatrics/admissions

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 required, Step 2 CK scores if available

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Lisa Frias-Castillo

Lfriascastillo@mhs.net


4. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA COLLEGE OF MEDICINE JACKSONVILLE PROGRAM

Program Director: Ayesha Mirza MD

Email: ayesha.mirza@jax.ufl.edu

Link: https://hscj.ufl.edu/pediatrics/residency/

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (Average score 226-235) and Step 2 required

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Dawn M DeSantis

dawn.desantis@jax.ufl.edu


5. JACKSON MEMORIAL HOSPITAL/ JACKSON HEALTH SYSTEM PROGRAM

Program Director: Monica Alba-Sandoval MD

Email: mxa508@miami.edu

Link: https://jacksonhealth.org/graduate/pediatrics/#gref

USMLE SCORES: >210 on Step 1 and Step 2

USCE: Not required

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Vivian Dechard-Martell

vdechard@med.miami.edu


6. NICKLAUS CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL PROGRAM

Program Director: Beatriz Cunill-De Sautu, MD

Email: beatriz.cunill-desautu@nicklaushealth.org

Link: https://www.nicklauschildrens.org/medical-professionals/medical-education/graduate-medical-education-gme/pediatric-residency-program/how-to-apply

USMLE SCORES: >210 on Step 1 and Step 2; Step 2 passed on first attempt but with exceptions

USCE: Not required

VISA: J-1 Only

YSG: 3 years

Contact Information:

Alina Gonzalez

alina.gonzalez@nicklaushealth.org


7. UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA (PENSACOLA) PROGRAM

Program Director: Diane Wilkinson, MD

Email: Dmw101@peds.ufl.edu

Link: http://www.sacred-heart.org/PediatricsResidency/page.asp?id=43

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (>195) and Step 2 (>196) required

USCE: Preferred

VISA: J-1 Only

YSG: 2 Years

Contact Information:

Danika Gretzinger, BA

dgretzinger@ascension.org


-GEORGIA-


1. THE MEDICAL CENTER NAVICENT HEALTH MEDICAL CENTER OF CENTRAL GEORGIA/ MERCER UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF MEDICINE PROGRAM

Program Director: Katherine Duncan MD

Email: katherine.duncan@atriumhealth.org

Link: https://www.navicenthealth.org/service-center/pediatrics-residency-program

USMLE SCORES: Step 1(>198) and Step 2 (>209) required

VISA: They don’t give visas

YSG: 4 Years

Contact Information:

Teresa Beard

teresa.beard@atriumhealth.org


-HAWAII-


1. UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII PROGRAM

Program Director: David K Kurahara MD

Email: davidk@kapiolani.org

Link: http://www.hawaiiresidency.org/pediatric-residency/pediatric-residency-home

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (>195) and Step 2 (>210) required

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Elizabeth Welch BS

peds@hawaii.edu


-ILLINOIS-


1. LOYOLA UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CENTER PROGRAM

Program Director: Tehui M Ma MD

Email: tema@lumc.edu

Link:https://www.loyolamedicine.org/gme/pediatric-residency

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 required (>200); Step 2 (no minimum score required)

YSG: 2 Years

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Tanya Diaz MS

natanya.diaz@luhs.org



2. ADVOCATE HEALTH CARE (ADVOCATE CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL/ PARK RIDGE) PROGRAM

Program Director: Joanna Lewis, MD

Email: joanna.lewis@aah.org

Link: https://www.advocatehealth.com/education/residency-opportunities/

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 required (>200); Step 2 (no minimum) not required

YSG: 5 years

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Mandy Semenik

mandy.semenik@aah.org


3. UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS COLLEGE OF MEDICINE AT PEORIA PROGRAM

Program Director: Bhavana Kandikattu, MD

Email: bthota5@uic.edu

Link: https://peoria.medicine.uic.edu/departments/pediatrics/residency/

USMLE SCORES: Step 1(>200) and Step 2(>200) required

VISA: J-1, H1B, F-1 (OPT Program)

Contact Information:

Tammy Livingston BA

tlliving@uic.edu


4. SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY PROGRAM

Program Director: Janet L Patterson MD

Email: pedsresidency@siumed.edu

Link: http://www.siumed.edu/peds/residency-program.html

USMLE SCORES: Step 1(>185 required); Step 2 (no minimum)

YSG: 3 Years

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Annelisa M Herter

pedsresidency@siumed.edu


-INDIANA-

1. ST VINCENT HOSPITAL AND HEALTH CARE CENTER PROGRAM

Program Director: Rita P Patel MD, MPH

Email: rita.patel@ascension.org

Link: https://www.stvincent.org/medical-education/pediatrics-residency

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (>210) and Step 2 (>220) required)

YSG: 5 Years

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Rita P Patel MD, MPH

rita.patel@ascension.org


-KANSAS-


1. UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS(WICHITA) PROGRAM

Program Director: Deborah A Alliston, MD, MEd

Email: dalliston@kumc.edu

Link: http://wichita.kumc.edu/pediatrics/

YSG: 6 Years

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Tara Shirley

tshirley@kumc.edu


-LOUISIANA-


1. LOUISIANA STATE UNIVERSITY (SHREVEPORT) PROGRAM

Program Director: Paul D Cooper, MD

Email: pcoope@lsuhsc.edu

Link: http://www.lsuhscshreveport.edu/departments/ClinicalDepartments/Pediatrics/

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (>200) and Step 2(>210) scores required

VISA: J-1 Only

Contact Information:

Jessica D Lee

jessica.lee@lsuhs.edu


-MASSACHUSETTS-

1.CHILDREN HOSPITAL /BOSTON MEDICAL CENTRE PROGRAM

Program Director: Theodore Sectish, MD

Email: theodore.sectish@childrens.harvard.edu

Link: http://www.childrenshospital.org/bcrp

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (>210); Step 2 (>210)

USCE: Required 3 lors

VISA: step 3 required for H1b

YSG: n/a

Contact Information: Elayne M Fournier, BS bcrp@childrens.harvard.edu


2. UMMS-BAYSTATE PROGRAM

Program Director: Stewart A Mackie MD

Email: Stewart.Mackie@baystatehealth.org

Link:http://www.baystatehealth.org/pedsresidency

USMLE SCORES: Step 1 (>200) and Step 2 pass

USCE: 3 LORs

VISA: J-1 H-1 F-1 for opt first year

Contact Information: Erica lunden

erica.lunden@baystatehealth.org


-MARYLAND-


1.SINaI HOSPITAL OF BALTIMORE PROGRAM

Program Director: Sybil Pentsil, MD

Email: spentsil@lifebridgehealth.org

Link:https://www.lifebridgehealth.org/Sinai/ChildrensHospitalatSinaiPediatricResidencyProgram.aspx

USMLE SCORES: >200 on Step 1 and >210 Step 2 first attempt

USCE: 3LORs+ 3months of hands on experience in US

VISA: J1

YSG: upto 5 yrs

Contact Information:

Onyi Esochaghi

oesochaghi@lifebridgehealth.org


-MICHIGAN-


1.ASCENSION St JOHN HOSPITAL PROGRAM

Program Director: Premchand Anne MD

Email:premchand.anne@ascension.org

Link: https://medicaleducationsjp.com/medical-education/residency-programs/pediatric-residency

USMLE SCORES: >201 on Step 1 and step 2 not required

USCE: 3LORs

VISA: J1

YSG: upto 7yrs

Contact Information:

Ashley Sultini,BA

ashley.sultini@ascension.org


2. CHILDREN HOSPITAL OF MICHIGAN PROGRAM

Program Director: Jacqueline Leja MD, MS

Email:jleja@dmc.org

Link: http://www.childrensdmc.org/pediatricresidency

USMLE SCORES: no minimum score

2 attempts

USCE: 3LORs desirable but not necessarily required

VISA: J1

YSG: upto 5 yrs

Contact Information:

Stacy Wilson

swilson@med.wayne.edu


3. HURLEY MEDICAL CENTRE /MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY PROGRAM

Program Director: Gwendolyn Reyes, MD

Email:greyes1@hurleymc.com

Link:https://education.hurleymc.com/gme/residencies-and-fellowships/pediatrics

USMLE SCORES: step1 and step 2 (>220)

USCE: 3LORs required

VISA: J1

YSG: upto 5 yrs

Contact Information:

Chelsay Hamburg ,BA

chambur1@hurleymc.com


4.WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY HOMER STRYKER MD SCHOOL OF MEDICINE PROGRAM

Program Director: Kelly A Brown, MD

Email: kelly.brown@med.wmich.edu

Link:https://med.wmich.edu/node/12

USMLE SCORES: step1(>201) and step2 (>230)

USCE: 3LORs required

VISA: J1

YSG: upto 5 yrs

Contact Information:

Julia G Oswalt,MPA

julia.oswalt@med.wmich.edu


5. MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY PROGRAM (SPARROW HOSPITAL)


Program Director: Michael Stiffler, MD

Email: stiffle1@msu.edu

Link:https://phd.msu.edu/pediatric-residency

USMLE SCORES: step1(>225) and step2 (>225)

USCE: 3 LORs

VISA: J1

YSG: upto 5 yrs

Contact information:

Jodi L Gould

jodi.gould@sparrow.org


6.BEAUMOUNT HEALTH (Royal Oak) PROGRAM

Program Director: Kalli J Doyle

Email: kalli.doyle@beaumont.edu

Link:

https://www.beaumont.edu/graduate-medical-education/residency-programs/pediatrics

USMLE SCORES: step1 and step2 ( no minimum limit)

USCE: 3Lors

VISA: J1, H1b

YSG: <5 yrs

Contact information:

Hanna Hubbard

hanna.hubbard@beaumont.org


-MINNESOTA-


1.UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA PROGRAM

Program Director:Emily Borman-Shoap, MD

Email: borm0029@umn.edu

Link:https://www.pediatrics.umn.edu/education/residency-program

USMLE SCORES: step1 , step2 not required at time of application ( no minimum limit)

USCE: 3Lors, 6 weeks of usce required not including observership

VISA: J1

Contact information:

Amy gaug

pedsres@umn.edu


-NEW JERSEY-


1.MARY HITCHCOCK MEMORIAL

HOSPITAL/

DARTMOUTH-HITCHCOCK PROGRAM

Program Director: Carol Lynn O'Dea, MD

Email: carol.lynn.h.o'dea@hitchcock.org

Link: http://chadkids.org/hp/pediatric_residency.html

USMLE SCORES: step1 only required ( no minimum limit)

USCE: 3Lors

VISA: J1, H1b, F1( opt 1st year)

YSG: not specified

Contact information:

Meagan W Williams

Pediatric.residency.program@hitchcock.org


-NEW YORK-


1.ALBANY MEDICAL CENTER PROGRAM

Program Director: H Alex Nagle MD

Email: keehanp@mail.amc.edu

Link:http://www.amc.edu/academic/gme/programs/Pediatrics/requirements_and_eligibility.cfm

USMLE SCORES: step1 and step2 ( no minimum limit) pass at first attempt

USCE: 3Lors

VISA: J1

YSG: <5 yrs

Contact information:Phillip Keegan

Phone no. - 518-262-3125


2.BRONXCARE HEALTH SYSTEM PROGRAM

Program Director: Erika Regalado, MD

Email: eregalad@bronxleb.org

Link:https://www.blhcpeds.org/how-to-apply

USMLE SCORES: step1 (225+)

USCE: 3Lors

VISA: J1 , H1B( if step 3 taken )

YSG: <5 yrs

Contact information: Jessica Berrios,MS

jberrios@bronxleb.org


3.JACOBI MEDICAL CENTER/ALBERT EINSTEIN COLLEGE OF MEDICINE PROGRAM

Program Director: Joseph A Burks, MD

Email:auxford.burks@nychhc.org

Link:http://www.jacobipeds.org/

USMLE SCORES: step1 and step2 scores not specified

USCE: 3Lors

VISA: J1, H1b

Contact information: Joseph A Burks ,MD

auxford.burks@nychhc.org


4.LINCOLN MEDICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH CENTER PROGRAM

Program Director: Magda Mendez, MD

Email: magda.mendez@nychhc.org

Link:https://www.nychealthandhospitals.org/lincoln/pediatric-residency-program/

USMLE SCORES: ECFMG certified, CS first attempt; Ste